A hacker’s ideal of Murphy’s Law

I got into an accident a few months ago while I was riding my bicycle. It was a car accident, and it was my first one out there. The confusing thing about this accident though, is that I was the one who damaged the car. Which placed it at quite a stand still. How do you deal with an insurance claim, with a vehicle that does not have one in the first place? Like many firsts, I rode off, as I was pretty unclear of any damage(s) done; after which I was concurrently tackled by the drivers son who managed to catch up to me; who also, damaged my bicycle and bruised me up pretty badly. The first thing that came to my mind wasn’t anger, but confusion. To deal with an unknown factor, at a pace of high tension. It was honestly heart pumping.

I had 5hrs to figure out a solution, to pay for the damages, or to call the police for an insurance claim; and the only tools I had was the internet. So i did a search, and figured it was better to pay, as there were clues of a ‘hit and run’. Should I had stayed, the case would have been a lot more to my favour. Other things I managed to find out were the details. The work place of the car driver, and his past records, company, and the places where his son most likely was from; the son’s position in the military and his social standings. For when I decode a situation, my mind has to think in many different directions, how to cover my tracks, and how to provide myself with a reasonable counter attack.

The driver was a reasonably nice guy, other then his over exaggeration of the damages claimed. A discolouration was a dent, and his son’s fall was a serious ligament tear (yes I called to check up on his son as well, I might be analytically deadpan, but I am still reasonably concerned with another’s safety; and he was absolutely fine). So yes he was an interesting chap, and his interesting old mind, thinks in his own interesting methods.

So yes, why do I speak of this virgin incident that I hold so personally, because of all things that can go wrong, will go wrong, and the only solution to such a dilemma is to have the expected knowledge for damage control, and hopefully a reversal of the events.

A lecturer of mine once remarked that design is not everything, but everything is design. What it means is that design extends beyond the social construct of what design is presumed. Taking a few steps back, I would call design the love child of irrationality and practicality; like why blue makes us calm, and why red makes us angry. Scientist have tried to rationalise it to a certain extend, but I do think that much of it is still blubber. Take this for example: your red, might never be the same as the red seen by another and there is almost no way to prove it. That I think is enough to send stats by scientists down the chute.

The data salvage from the blubber, however, is of great use. To be able to rationalise a situation, and keep the harvested data for future usage is why men is able to get so far. A collective knowledge; written in books since the dark ages; metal typed during the 1880s; and now digitalised into the world wide web.

The internet is a powerful tool, and designers better not forget it, for designers do everything—since everything is design, and almost EVERYTHING can be found on the internet, if you know where to look…The legality, and moral rights to such information found though, I will leave it up to your judgement.

I have trained myself to have the plasticity to adapt to any situation. It’s like fencing, as you attack, you gather enough information for both your avoidance, and the subsequent counter attack.

Because anything can go wrong in this world, it is not enough to simply source for the solutions when an issue arrives. A designer has to be preemptive. When I was in the military, I was trained to be aware of contingencies. There is ALWAYS a plan B in this situations; and these plans are made months, years ahead. Not only do we have to have the capabilities of finding the problem, we have to have the solutions to it, even before it has occurred; that I think, is what they call learning.

Sometimes, that is what school is for, by teaching you the skills, before you need them, they create a safety net for you in case you fall. Though school has a weakness. For what the school deems preemptive and future proof, is only so much as the school sees correct.

I think, you are a better judge for what ‘future proofing’ means. You seek the information you think forms your base as a designer. Its like adding stats in a game. 20%Layout, 50%web design, 30%processing for example.

Hanson Ho once said in a talk, “I store ideas, I might not need it for this project, but I can always save it for the next”; and I think the things he said applies to this theory of mine as well.

For my bicycle, I sold it, for it reminded me of my flaws. Yes I wasn’t ready this time—but should I be required for a legal debate in future, you bet your ass I had my research done for it.

SOCIOLOGY | TECHNOLOGY

Leave a Reply

